Monday, 23 April 2012

BTEC Level 2 Diploma in IT: Unit 3 - Computer Systems

By Nicolate Makubika, Level 2 IT in IT Practitioners Student – 2012

Unit 3 is about computer systems, having a better understanding of different types of computer system.

You get the opportunity to develop a deeper understanding of the common components of computer systems and to know their different uses.

You also become able to connect computer hardware and to configure computer software. In this unit health and safety and security are one of the major aspects.

They might seem small issues as you just want to get on with it, but they play a big and important part in this topic!

There are three categories which each and every one of the different types of computer systems fall into:
  • Personal computers – are designed to be used by one person, these include PDAs, mobile phones, games consoles, tablets, net-books, laptops and desktops.
  • Embedded systems – these are systems that are concealed in other machines such as refrigerators.
  • Servers – are systems that control all the networks and devices.
In this unit we are assessed by researching and writing assignments - and giving presentations in which there are pass, merit and distinction criteria.Each criteria involves a different aspect of computer systems.

You can aim for the criteria you are able to achieve but if you want to study at Level 3 then you should really aim for a merit or a distinction!

By doing this unit you can be a computer technician, systems administrator or computer engineer on the professional side of things.

To see the other units on the Level 2 Diploma in IT, please click HERE.
To apply for this course, please click HERE.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...